CorX Labs

Head to head

Kimi K2 Instruct vs Kimi K2 Thinking

Kimi K2 Instruct from Moonshot AI against Kimi K2 Thinking from Moonshot AI — specification, price and every benchmark both makers have published, in one table.

Benchmarks

Kimi K2 Thinking leads

Kimi K2 Thinking wins 2 of the 2 benchmarks both models report, Kimi K2 Instruct wins 0, by a wide margin. The average gap across shared tests is 17.4 points.

Price

Same price

Both cost $1.07 per million tokens on a 3:1 input-to-output mix.

What actually differs

  • Kimi K2 Thinking takes 262K tokens of context against 131K — 2.0× more room for long documents or a large codebase.
  • Kimi K2 Thinking is a reasoning model and the other is not, which usually means better maths and multi-step logic in exchange for higher latency and more billed output tokens.

Scorecard

Which is better at what

Maths, coding, reasoning and the rest — one line each, averaged over the benchmarks both models actually report.

Which model scores higher in each capability category, averaged over the benchmarks all of them report.
CategoryKimi K2 InstructKimi K2 ThinkingBetter at this
ReasoningOnly one model reports thisNot comparable
MathsOnly one model reports thisNot comparable
CodingSWE-bench Verified, LiveCodeBench59.8%77.2%Kimi K2 Thinking+17.4
KnowledgeOnly one model reports thisNot comparable
MultimodalNeither model reports thisNot comparable
Instruction followingNeither model reports thisNot comparable
Human preferenceOnly one model reports thisNot comparable
Categories wonOut of 1 comparable01Kimi K2 Thinking

Each category averages only the benchmarks every model here reports, so no one is credited for a test the other did not run. A category with no shared test is marked Not comparable rather than guessed at.

Side by side

Kimi K2 Instruct and Kimi K2 Thinking, row by row

AttributeKimi K2 InstructMoonshot AIKimi K2 ThinkingMoonshot AI
Specification
MakerWho built itMoonshot AIMoonshot AI
Released2025-072025-11
ParametersTotal, and active per token for a mixture of experts1T total / 32B active1T total / 32B active
ArchitectureMoEMoE
Context windowHow much can go in at once131,072 tokens262,144 tokens
Max output16,384 tokens131,072 tokens
InputTextText
ReasoningSpends extra tokens thinking before it answersNoYes
Tool callingYesYes
LicenceModified MITModified MIT
Open weightsCan you download and run it yourselfYesYes
Price
Input priceUSD per million tokens in$0.60$0.60
Output priceUSD per million tokens out$2.50$2.50
Blended 3:1A 3-in-to-1-out million-token mix — a fairer single number than input price alone$1.07$1.07
Price noteOpen weights — this is a representative hosting rate, not a first-party price. Running it yourself costs only hardware.Open weights — this is a representative hosting rate, not a first-party price. Running it yourself costs only hardware.
Published benchmarks
MMLU-Pro12,000 reasoning-heavy multiple-choice questions across 14 academic subjects, with ten options instead of four. The harder successor to MMLU.81.1%Not reported
GPQA Diamond198 graduate-level physics, chemistry and biology questions written to be Google-proof. PhD holders in the matching field score about 65%.Not reported84.5%
AIME 2025The American Invitational Mathematics Examination — 15 problems, integer answers, no partial credit. A standard test of multi-step maths reasoning.Not reported94.5%
SWE-bench Verified500 human-validated GitHub issues from real Python repositories. The model must produce a patch that makes the project's own tests pass.65.8%71.3%Best
LiveCodeBenchCompetitive-programming problems collected after each model's training cutoff, so contamination cannot inflate the score.53.7%83.1%Best
LMArena EloElo rating from blind pairwise votes by the public on LMArena. Measures what people prefer, not what is correct.1420Not reported
LinksHugging Face · Full pageHugging Face · Full page
Row verified2026-082026-08

Where these numbers come from

Every score on this page is a published figure, taken from the model's own card, system card, technical report or release post, or from a public leaderboard. CorX Labs did not run these evaluations. Most are self-reported by the lab that built the model, which means they were produced under that lab's own choice of prompt, scaffold and number of attempts — so treat them as a starting point for a shortlist, not as a settled ranking.

A score someone other than the model's maker measured is marked Independent and names its measurer. Those are the stronger numbers on this page — an outside harness has no reason to flatter anyone — and there are not many of them.

Where a figure has not been published, the cell reads Not reported rather than an estimate. Nothing here is inferred, interpolated or guessed. Each model records the month its row was last checked. Full method and caveats.

Questions

Kimi K2 Instruct or Kimi K2 Thinking?

Is Kimi K2 Instruct better than Kimi K2 Thinking?

Kimi K2 Thinking wins 2 of the 2 benchmarks both models report, Kimi K2 Instruct wins 0, by a wide margin. The average gap across shared tests is 17.4 points.

Which is cheaper, Kimi K2 Instruct or Kimi K2 Thinking?

Both cost $1.07 per million tokens on a 3:1 input-to-output mix.

What is the difference between Kimi K2 Instruct and Kimi K2 Thinking?

Kimi K2 Thinking takes 262K tokens of context against 131K — 2.0× more room for long documents or a large codebase. Kimi K2 Thinking is a reasoning model and the other is not, which usually means better maths and multi-step logic in exchange for higher latency and more billed output tokens.