Head to head
Claude Haiku 5.5 vs Claude Haiku 4.5
Claude Haiku 5.5 from Anthropic against Claude Haiku 4.5 from Anthropic — specification, price and every benchmark both makers have published, in one table.
At a glance
Benchmarks
No shared benchmarks
These two models have no benchmark in common with published figures for both, so there is nothing to compare directly. The specification and price rows below are still like for like.
Price
Claude Haiku 5.5 is cheaper
On a 3:1 input-to-output mix, Claude Haiku 5.5 costs $0.20 per million tokens against $2.00 for Claude Haiku 4.5 — about 10.0× less. Remember that a reasoning model bills its thinking as output, so cost per answer can diverge much further than cost per token.
What actually differs
- Claude Haiku 5.5 takes 1M tokens of context against 200K — 5.0× more room for long documents or a large codebase.
Scorecard
Which is better at what
Maths, coding, reasoning and the rest — one line each, averaged over the benchmarks both models actually report.
| Category | Claude Haiku 5.5 | Claude Haiku 4.5 | Better at this |
|---|---|---|---|
| ReasoningOnly one model reports this | — | — | Not comparable |
| MathsOnly one model reports this | — | — | Not comparable |
| CodingOnly one model reports this | — | — | Not comparable |
| KnowledgeNeither model reports this | — | — | Not comparable |
| MultimodalNeither model reports this | — | — | Not comparable |
| Instruction followingNeither model reports this | — | — | Not comparable |
| Human preferenceNeither model reports this | — | — | Not comparable |
| Categories won | No category has a test both models report | ||
Each category averages only the benchmarks every model here reports, so no one is credited for a test the other did not run. A category with no shared test is marked Not comparable rather than guessed at.
Side by side
Claude Haiku 5.5 and Claude Haiku 4.5, row by row
| Attribute | Claude Haiku 5.5Anthropic | Claude Haiku 4.5Anthropic |
|---|---|---|
| Specification | ||
| MakerWho built it | Anthropic | Anthropic |
| Released | 2026-10 | 2025-10 |
| Context windowHow much can go in at once | 1,000,000 tokens | 200,000 tokens |
| Max output | 128,000 tokens | 64,000 tokens |
| Input | Text, Image | Text, Image |
| ReasoningSpends extra tokens thinking before it answers | Yes | Yes |
| Tool calling | Yes | Yes |
| Knowledge cutoff | 2026-06 | 2025-02 |
| Licence | Proprietary | Proprietary |
| Open weightsCan you download and run it yourself | No | No |
| Price | ||
| Input priceUSD per million tokens in | $0.10 | $1.00 |
| Output priceUSD per million tokens out | $0.50 | $5.00 |
| Cached input | Not reported | $0.10 |
| Blended 3:1A 3-in-to-1-out million-token mix — a fairer single number than input price alone | $0.20Cheapest | $2.00 |
| Published benchmarks | ||
| GPQA Diamond198 graduate-level physics, chemistry and biology questions written to be Google-proof. PhD holders in the matching field score about 65%. | Not reported | |
| AIME 2025The American Invitational Mathematics Examination — 15 problems, integer answers, no partial credit. A standard test of multi-step maths reasoning. | Not reported | |
| SWE-bench Verified500 human-validated GitHub issues from real Python repositories. The model must produce a patch that makes the project's own tests pass. | Not reported | |
| Terminal-Bench 4.0End-to-end tasks in a real terminal — install, build, debug, run — scored on whether the machine ends up in the required state. | Not reported | |
| Links | Full page | Full page |
| Row verified | 2026-10 | 2026-08 |
Where these numbers come from
Every score on this page is a published figure, taken from the model's own card, system card, technical report or release post, or from a public leaderboard. CorX Labs did not run these evaluations. Most are self-reported by the lab that built the model, which means they were produced under that lab's own choice of prompt, scaffold and number of attempts — so treat them as a starting point for a shortlist, not as a settled ranking.
A score someone other than the model's maker measured is marked Independent and names its measurer. Those are the stronger numbers on this page — an outside harness has no reason to flatter anyone — and there are not many of them.
Where a figure has not been published, the cell reads Not reported rather than an estimate. Nothing here is inferred, interpolated or guessed. Each model records the month its row was last checked. Full method and caveats.
Questions
Claude Haiku 5.5 or Claude Haiku 4.5?
Is Claude Haiku 5.5 better than Claude Haiku 4.5?
These two models have no benchmark in common with published figures for both, so there is nothing to compare directly. The specification and price rows below are still like for like.
Which is cheaper, Claude Haiku 5.5 or Claude Haiku 4.5?
On a 3:1 input-to-output mix, Claude Haiku 5.5 costs $0.20 per million tokens against $2.00 for Claude Haiku 4.5 — about 10.0× less. Remember that a reasoning model bills its thinking as output, so cost per answer can diverge much further than cost per token.
What is the difference between Claude Haiku 5.5 and Claude Haiku 4.5?
Claude Haiku 5.5 takes 1M tokens of context against 200K — 5.0× more room for long documents or a large codebase.